Finding plans

Advert

Finding plans

Home Forums Beginners Finding plans

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Neil Aldred
    Participant
      @neilaldred46964

Hi. I'm new to all this. Recently built a model yacht and keen to knock up another. Any pointers on where to get hull plans? Are they called sections?

Specifically I would like to build a mason 53 sailing yacht

Advert
      Neil Aldred
      Participant
        @neilaldred46964
        David Marks 2
        Participant
          @davidmarks2

Neil

I am not into yachts but have a look at the Sarik Hobbies website. Many of the plans have featured previously in MB magazine as a free plan, plus build description or as a feature plan where the magazine contains the build description and you purchase the plan from typically Sarik Hobbies.

You will most probably receive a response from Ray Wood who is into model boats of all types including sailing craft.

Ray Wood 3
          Participant
            @raywood3

Hi Neil,

As David says SARIK hobbies will have plans for a ketch similar to the Mason 53, but I don't recall that exact boat having model plans ? I imagine it is an American design ?

What was your first model yacht build ??

Regards Ray

Neil Aldred
            Participant
              @neilaldred46964

Hey Ray, thanks for the speedy reply. I will take a look

The first and only boat I have built is a John Alden Malabar XIII. I was lucky enough to sail it last year and the owner has all the original drawings on board so I was able to get a copy of the hull sections and create a 3d model for the hull which I printed.

I was originally only doing it because I was interested in doing the rigging, but got a bit carried away. Its not quite finished and there are a lot of things I would do differently next time, but it was really fun building it