Galileo – A resurrection

Advert

Galileo – A resurrection

Home Forums Sailing Models Galileo – A resurrection

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 180 total)
  • Author
    Tim Rowe
    Participant
      @timrowe83142

The story starts 50 years ago when I was 12. I had been sailing my Optimist dinghy for 4 years and became really interested in model yachts. A friend and fellow Oppy sailor shared the same interest and we designed and built a couple of models with a simple geared vane self-steering. They were as ugly as sin but did sail and we had a lot of fun.

Looking towards the next step and venturing into radio control I got talking to a friend of the family who had designed a 50' yacht to be built in aluminium which at the time, on the south coast of England, was novel in both size and material.

Leslie Bewes created a design that many thought was only one step up from ugly as sin and other were not so kind. The beauty in my eyes was that it was hard chine and that sold it to me. Daphne his wife was a skilled carpenter and fitted the boat out. Talented family.

dscf0246.jpg

Here is a photo of the full sized Galileo beached in Andratx harbor, Mallorca after a storm about 6 years ago. Some scratches and a few minor dents was the tally but my model suffered a much more horrific fate which I will come onto later.

The yacht was built by Phillip of Dartmouth and all the time it was base on the Hamble river it had burgundy coloured topsides and a light blue non-slip painted deck. The antifouling was white. Overall the boat did look a bit slab-sided and this new colour schemed has stretched things out a bit.