getting the boat to pond

Advert

getting the boat to pond

Home Forums All things floating getting the boat to pond

• This topic has 7 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 1 month, 1 week ago by ashley needham.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Alasdair Allan
    Participant
      @alasdairallan37423

Do people have a view on best way to transport boats to pond? I tend to carry my 5 foot paddle steamer through the park and then use webbing slings to launch with, but now that I am fitting a removable keel to the boat after it comes out of the car, and need tsomething to sit it on to do that, I am trying to work out if there is a more elegant solution to this. I know that some people use Hannibal Lecter style trolleys to push boats about in, but as a relative novice, I am as usual open to all ideas!

Advert
      Richard Simpson
      Participant
        @richardsimpson88330

I’ve always used webbing type slings but that is with boats that do not have a removable keel. I do have a single yacht though with a removable keel and that sits on a cradle with a couple of webbing straps across it for the yacht to sit on while the keel is fitted. Something like a folding stool but with two straps rather than the full width seat.

Folding camping stool.

I guess you could even buy a comping stool and simply cut a hole in the middle for the keel to pass through.

You could fit the keel while the model is on this then lift the model out of the stand and into the water with a couple of webbing slings.

Alasdair Allan
        Participant
          @alasdairallan37423

Useful advice as ever – I had been about to try to adapt a milk crate, but this looks amuch simpler option. depending on sizes, I may need two small stools or one with a hole cut in it as you say.  keel is very short but boat is quite long.

ashley needham
          Participant
            @ashleyneedham69188

Alasdair.