Propeller size

Advert

Propeller size

Home Forums Beginners Propeller size

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    William Martin 1
    Participant
      @williammartin1

Hi everyone I am new to brushless motors and I’m struggling to decide how to match the correct size propeller to the motor and the boat .
      I am scratch building a 32” Perkasa. It is all wood with a 1400kv brushless motor running on 12v lead acid battery. How do I work out the correct propellor ( two blade , three blade and what size)

Advert
      William Martin 1
      Participant
        @williammartin1

Matching it with the correct motor

Colin Bishop
          @colinbishop34627

Hello William,

We have some members who should be able to help you but the combination of a brushless motor and a lead acid battery my be inadvisable as a brushless motor suitable for a 32 inch perkasa is quite likely to draw more current than the battery is capable of giving. plus the weight of the battery will affect performance quite badly.

Lead acid batteries are only really suitable for slowish scale boats with a large displacement such as tugs and even then they are not the best choice, NiMH batteries are preferred.

SLEC market a Perkasa kit at pretty much the size you are building your scratch model and their recommendations for the power train can be seen on this link:

**LINK**

The kit was designed by Dave Milbourn who had a vast amount of exprience with this type of model so you can be confident that his setup will work. The kit is slightly smaller than your boat and has a 1000kv motor so I guess your motor should be OK, others can confirm this.

Colin.

Charles Oates
          Participant
            @charlesoates31738