Motor ESC setup?

Advert

Motor ESC setup?

Home Forums R/C & Accessories Motor ESC setup?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Jonnytheboat
    Participant
      @jonnytheboat

Hello folks,

I'm a newbie here and would appreciate some advice. I'm currently constructing a model of a raised quarterdeck coaster at a scale of approximately 1/60. The model is 27 inches long overall and has a beam of 5 inches. Her draught is about 2 inches. Please could someone suggest a motor/esc/battery setup? I don't want her to travel quickly and she'll have a rather large propeller as I'm trying to keep things looking right for when she's on display, the propeller will be a 4 bladed 40mm job I hope, 45mm would be more scale but I'd like to keep the prop with a decent amount of water around it. Also could any of you recommend a prop shaft that won't leak too much? Thank you in advance

Jonnytheboat

Advert
      Jonnytheboat
      Participant
        @jonnytheboat

Raised quarterdeck coaster scratch build

Richard Simpson
        Participant
          @richardsimpson88330

Hi Johnny and welcome to the forum. As usual with such questions there will be as many answers as there are members but I think we will all be in the same ball park.

Your model is fairly small and not performance based so I would go for something along the lines of a 360 to 385 motor. I would have a chat with these guys to get an exact recommendation.

Como Drills

This is a more expensive route than picking up something off Ebay but you know you are getting quality and a good support service.

Once you have your motor identified you should then have a good idea of the current it will draw so you can then select your speed controller. There are lots of Chinese speed controllers available on line and through various outlets but, for myself, I prefer to use a British based manufacturer who are always available to help so, for me, this would be Mtroniks:

Mtroniks