Motor advice

Advert

Motor advice

Home Forums R/C & Accessories Motor advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Dragos Stirbu
    Participant
      @dragosstirbu92072

Good evening all.

Although I have built some models before, this is my first try at R/C and for this I have chosen a nice tugboat, Tai Koo (no 3, launched in 1950). Having no experience in the matter I come here to ask for advice in choosing the motors for this one. I have the 50 mm, 4 bladed propellers: prop-shop. I saw in another thread someone recommended for a tugboat this motor, would it be ok for my boat? And while we're here can I get some suggestions for ESC as well please? Any advice would be appreciated.

The model will be aprox. 90 cm long.

Thank you

Regards, Dragos

Advert
      Dragos Stirbu
      Participant
        @dragosstirbu92072

What motors for tugboat

Ray Wood 3
        Participant
          @raywood3

Hi Dragos,

Welcome to the forum, opinions will vary, but I think you would need the next size larger 600 – 850 to drive your4 bladed 50mm propeller, assuming your tug has a heavy displacement, with a 40 amp ESC should do the job

Regards Ray

Edited By Ray Wood 2 on 16/09/2021 14:31:39

Dragos Stirbu
          Participant
            @dragosstirbu92072

Hi Ray,

Thank you for the reply and the warm welcome. I have found this or this. Would the rpm be ok? I want to keep it in scale if possible.

Regards, Dragos

Richard Simpson
            Participant
              @richardsimpson88330

Hi Dragos and welcome to the forum. As Ray suggests a four bladed 50mm propeller would need a reasonable sized motor in the range he suggests but I notice your initial description says propellers.