Help To Identify Yacht

Advert

Help To Identify Yacht

Home Forums Collectors’ corner Help To Identify Yacht

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Paul Skinner 1
    Participant
      @paulskinner1

Hello All, Newbie here, I looking for assistance in identifying & dating this yacht. Also. I'd like advise as to how long the mast would have been & the forward spar were and how it was rigged & where to source replacement parts please.I've friends who are competent sailors who can assist with this. Thanks for the assistance Regards Paul

Advert
      Paul Skinner 1
      Participant
        @paulskinner1
        Gareth Jones
        Participant
          @garethjones79649

Hi Paul,

I think your yacht is most likely to be a Bill Daniels designed Pocahontas, as shown in the lines drawing below.

1936 marblehead pocahontas bill daniels.jpg

There is also a possibility it could be a Bert Littlejohn designed Kittiwake from the same era. as shown below.

kittiwake 1.jpg

It can be difficult to differentiate Marbleheads as they are all the same length at nominally 50 inches. However according to the drawings and the two boats that we have (my wife is lucky enough to have one of each) Pocahontas is 9.5 inch beam and Kittiwake is 9 inches. The stem on Pocahontas is more swept back than Kittiwake and looks more like your model. It is possible that your yacht is something else altogether but the above two designs will give you a good guide as it is most probably from that era.

There is an article on building a 'modern' version of Pocahontas in the Sept 1995 issue of Marine Modelling. For Kittiwake you need to go back further, to the |December 1937 edition of Marine Models.

I can post some photos of our two yachts if that will help. Our Pocahontas was kindly donated to Elizabeth by Bob Abell who built it some years ago but was running out of room to store his models.