choosing suitable electric motors

Advert

choosing suitable electric motors

Home Forums R/C & Accessories choosing suitable electric motors

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Barry Parsons 1
    Participant
      @barryparsons1

Ladies and Gents, I am very new to model boating and need advice as to which electric motor would suit my first build ..Occre Ulises Tug boat. As model shops remain closed i turn to all you wonderful modellers and whittlers for your first hand knowledge and unbiased opinions.

Regards

Advert
      Barry Parsons 1
      Participant
        @barryparsons1
        Colin Bishop
          @colinbishop34627

Hi Barry,,

You should get some advice on this from our members. Your tug is 800mm long and 180mm wide.

Hobbies of Norfolk sell this model and rccommend a 600 type motor but you might be better off buying from Howes Models which looks rather cheaper!

**LINK**

Colin

Charles Oates
          Participant
            @charlesoates31738

Good morning Barry, welcome to the forum. The Ulises makes up into an attractive model, I hope you enjoy the build.

Medium size tugs like this need a motor that favours torque rather than revs, so it can swing a decent size propeller and if you are new to model boats, it's easy to get confused over the weird labeling on most of them. I could go on about various motors and how a 600 size motor includes some totally unsuitable racing types, but I won't. To make this easy, there are a few good motors, but I would use a Mabuchi 540 noise attenuated ( not any other type of 540 motor) suplied by a company called component shop, it costs about 9 pounds with mount. Mr google will take you to it. Similar motors are available from other places, but sometimes the specification will vary for a similar name, that's why I've specified the component shop one.

No doubt other people on here will have alternative ideas, so you should get some choice.