Sarik Air Sea Rescue kit build by beginner

Advert

Home Forums Beginners Sarik Air Sea Rescue kit build by beginner

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Dave Reed
    Participant
      @davereed72029

Advert
      Dave Reed
      Participant
        @davereed72029

Hi all,

I’m a beginner to boat models and thought it might be useful to other beginners to share my first kit build experience. I’m building the Sarik ASRL, Whaleback version (Sarik No:TW29) not the Vosper version.

p-946-0022611_ww2-british-air-sea-rescue-launch-boat-kit.jpeg

There are 6 similar sized kits in the range on the Sarik web site, the Vosper kit has a magazine article by an experienced modeller in the photos. I’m using this and other invaluable information from people on this and other forums to get me on the right path.

I would like to invite experienced boat builders to comment, particularly when I’ve made mistakes so other beginners can learn from them.

So lets get started.

The kit contains:

Instructions, Hull, Deck ,Superstructure, Servo mount, Motor mount, Transparent windscreen, Transparent gun canopies x2, Gun mounts x2, Aerial (mast and cross member), Carley float, Plastic sheet for bulkheads / trim (33x23cm), Stand.

Dave Reed
        Participant
          @davereed72029

Instructions: Not very comprehensive, just 10 points, giving general info.

Step 1: Trim deck to line indicated. There is a line moulded on the inner surface of the deck edge but it wanders up and down so I decided to leave that till later.

Step 2: Trim hull to line. The moulded line on the hull is straight but about 2.5mm thick – trim to top middle or bottom? It’s not clear, so I trimmed to top of line leaving the full 2.5mm on the hull so it could be trimmed further if necessary. I used scissors to cut the bulk of the material off, then a razor plane and sanded to smooth and level off.3mm hull line.jpg