Large floating platform – suggestions?

Advert

Large floating platform – suggestions?

Home Forums All things floating Large floating platform – suggestions?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Richard Manning
    Participant
      @richardmanning61218

Hi all,

First post – hope this is OK?

I am developing an "intelligent buoy" (not my eldest son!) and need a readily available platform on which to put some development kit. This platform needs to be able to hold about 20kg of kit (batteries and hardware). It also needs to be able to move – so I am thinking about a LARGE model boat. Something that I could easily fit a 600mm x 1000mm flat board on top of. I really want a very basic hull – probably a twin hull design for stability? Electric drive but I’m not planning on breaking any speed records. Basically it just needs to be able to hold position in a wind.

Any suggestions on what I could use? I am new to the model boat world so I really do not know what is out there. If I can get a kit that I can quickly put together so I can concentrate on the important bits so much the better.

Any suggestions welcome!

Thanks,

Richard

Advert
      Paul T
      Participant
        @pault84577

Hi Richard

I read your question when you first posted it and have been trying to think of a suitable basic hull that would suit your requirements but I have been unable to think of anything large or stable enough.

You are right in assuming that a multi hull would be best, in fact a semi submerged multi hull as used by ocean research teams would be ideal as they are fantastically stable even in heavy seas.

I would venture to suggest that you might have to build your own purpose designed hull to achieve the performance criteria that you are looking for, this would not be to difficult and could be completed quite quickly.

Sorry I can’t be of more help as it sounds like a very interesting project.

All the best.

Paul

Len Ochiltree