early diving model submarine

Advert

early diving model submarine

Home Forums Collectors’ corner early diving model submarine

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Charles Oates
    Participant
      @charlesoates31738

Hi all, I was looking at some old models donated to our club with my friend Pedro. He showed me a slightly batted submarine, and took off the top. I got quite a surprise, as being an old git, I recognised the relays and control gear from the 1960s reed radio control gear.

As I've been modeling for 55 years I can remember that achieving a model with ballast tank, functioning hydrovanes and motor control etc was considered next to impossible in the 1960s with even the best 12 channel reed gear. ( thats just 6 functions, on or off for those who are too young to remember). In fact I remember that most people didn't believe that the signal would go through the water ( 27 mhz)

sub7.jpg

The model is around 4 feet long and well made

sub 2.jpg

A home made ballast tank, with what looks like a preasure valven and a limit switch

sub3.jpg

Gear drive for the ballast tank

sub4.jpg

Control relays, wireing done in a manner typical of the time, all neat and very complicated

sub5.jpg

I think thats an ex wd motor, and a home made gearbox for the props.

sub8.jpg

Now the biggest mystery, What in the name of all thats Holy is this mechanism, 35 mm film going over the rollers. I have no idea but it's impressive.

sub6.jpg

Lastly something I do recognise, an old Kako motor driving a beautifully made gearbox for progressive rudder control.

It's an amazing piece of work, I wish I could have met it's builder.

Does anyone have any ideas about the mystery mechanism? Any and all ideas and observations are welcome, and I really wanted to share this neglected masterpiece.

Chas

Advert
      Charles Oates
      Participant
        @charlesoates31738

some pics and a mystery

Colin Bishop
          @colinbishop34627