Disarmodel Vanguard tug as RC

Advert

Disarmodel Vanguard tug as RC

Home Forums R/C & Accessories Disarmodel Vanguard tug as RC

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Petr Osipov
    Participant
      @petrosipov45629

Hi,

I am a static ship modeler for many years by now, both resin, wood, and plastics, mainly in small scale. But, recently, my daughter challenged me to build an RC model ship. Well, a challenge is to be completed!

I looked around a bit for a not too complex kit of a tug, and found a nice looking paddle wheel tug Vanguard from Disarmodel. http://www.disarmodel.com/nivel-4/26-vanguard-wood-paddle-tug-8436552882733.html I had a few gos to RC many years ago (and the broken twisted RC plane remains, destroyed drone, and incomplete plastic RC HMCS Snowberry from Revell are a silent reminder ), so I have the equipment (receivers, power controlers, etc) for that. But, I still have a few questions:

First – how is the quality of Disarmodel? I never encountered their kits so far, and nearly no reviews or mentions online…

Then, waterproofing the hull – how to do it? Would a layer of yacht varnish outside, and brushed-on epoxy inside suffice, or would it be too little? Or some fiberglass mats, etc needed?

Paddle wheels – would driving them with a T-like reductor gear motor (from Aliexpress like this **LINK**) be adequate? I have seen people using a chain drive, belt drive or cog wheels for that, but are there any points against a worm gear? How many RPM should I plan for the paddlewheels?

Would you place a sensor-driven bilge pump into the boat? I have such one in my snowberry, so I can just reuse it

In a long term I consider using a live view camera, LED lighting, and some servo units based on Arduino/WLAN (I am an IT guy, so programming it all is not an issue for me), but probably not in first iteration of the project.

Advert
      Petr Osipov
      Participant
        @petrosipov45629
        John W E