Billings Boats Banckert

Advert

Billings Boats Banckert

Home Forums Building Kits Billings Boats Banckert

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    bluetobits
    Participant
      @bluetobits

Hi.

Like gecon below this post, I’m contributing to Billing’s Xmas fund. This is my first attempt, please be kind.

Is it expected to have to adjust some of the laser cut parts to make things fit in a kit? And by adjust I mean more than a quick rub with sandpaper. Certainly a knife, perhaps not quite a chainsaw. The plastic hull seems about 5 mm smaller than the deck and laser cut plywood parts. I was thinking to glue the deck and hull together(epoxy)  then trimming (sanding) the excess ‘flange’ and glueing the gunwale strip over the joint. It’s going to make getting to the RC and motor gear awkward.  Also the instructions are a bit vague with little in the way of dimensions. Is this all ‘Normal’ for kit building? I find I’m having to dry build up 4 or 5 steps ahead to ensure it’s going to work before reaching for the glue. Of course that raises the question when to use CA, epoxy and PVA? So far I found that CA sticks the hull best but doesn’t gap-fill, waterproof or give any working time, I’m using epoxy and Milliput epoxy clay where waterproofing is required and I’m yet to open the PVA. I’m starting to think about my to venture into the world of paints. I’m thinking of an air brush using Vallejo or acrylic Humbrol  followed by a few coats of matt varnish all over.  I have bought a couple of mini self-priming pumps. I was thinking of using one as a bilge pump (Mosfet electronic water detector) to expel through a flanged hole just under the gunwale. I was thinking of using the other on channel 3 for fire water cannons (replacing the supplied ones with 3D printed versions) with a water pickup under the waterline.

I would be very grateful for any replies, suggestions or hints.

Thanks.

IMG_20231107_163134378Banckert

Advert
      Richard Simpson