San Feilpe project

Advert

San Feilpe project

Home Forums Sailing Models San Feilpe project

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    David Micallef
    Participant
      @davidmicallef44413

Hello, I am new to this hobby. I have a back problem that require surgery. It will surely require around 8 weeks of recovery. I am worried about my mental state during this time , so I'm looking for a challenge to keep me going. I am a restoration enthusiast and a part timer carpenter. Around 20 years ago , I build a model ship similar to "santa maria". My plan is to built a good model ship (ideally San Filipe 1:75)to be auctioned as a donation to a charity. Can you please advice me on which brands should I look to make a valued model worth to be auctioned ? I noticed that on ebay most are made in china. Also, do you think that 7 weeks working full time on it is realistic to be completed. Thanks

Advert
      David Micallef
      Participant
        @davidmicallef44413
        Colin Bishop
          @colinbishop34627

Hi David,

Welcome to the forum. I hope your surgery goes OK. It's certainly good to have a project to occupy your recovery period.

I'm not an expert at sailing ship models but there appear to be two versions of San Felipe.

The 1:75 scale one is by Mantua Models and pretty expensive at around £750. it is also recommended for expert builders so you might find it a bit of a handful. Modellers might take a year or two on something this complex. It's not just the woodwork – there are a lot of knots!

The other is the one from Occre at 1:60 scale which looks rather simpler and costs a third of the price. This might be the better option.

**LINK**

As to how long it would take – well, that's anybody's guess as everyone builds at a different rate depending on the time available, their enthusiasm and their level of expertise. In that sense the Occre model would be the more practical match for your proposed timetable.