Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

Boat electrics

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Atkinson27/11/2007 18:20:00
28 forum posts

good evening

as a novis or should i say complete beginner could you tell me what i need to fit electrics in a wooden boat and how to wire it up for radio control i have never done this but have a very small knowledge on the subject thanks if you an throw some light my way

The Reverand28/11/2007 13:42:00
84 forum posts

Hi David,

First of all you will need the radio control ,most come as a kit with servo's and receiver included.

I would recommend this as its all in the box ready to fit.You have to work out how many functions you want the boat to have,if its simply going to move forward and reverse,and turn then usually a 2 channel system will do.

This is very important decision as even though a 2 channel may be OK for this model you may want to add more functions on the next one,so it pays really to spend a little more and get a 4 or even a 6 channel system.

Also a suitable motor,and battery to suit

You will have to purchase a speed controller(although some modelers make them themselves)this unit plugs directly into your receiver and to the motor,which give you forward and reverse.

Wiring the motor,recever and servo's is very easy as most have corresponding plugs and sockets.

Paul T28/11/2007 14:14:00
7183 forum posts
1214 photos
2 articles

Hi David

Firstly I would advise that you visit your local club and ask the guys there, they will be only to willing to help.

However in the event of you not being able to do this I have written the following and not knowing how much knowledge you have I will start at the very beginning so please forgive me if you already know about some of it.