Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

Serious dilemma!

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Bob Abell10/08/2009 08:12:02
9337 forum posts
2985 photos
Developers have applied for planning permission to develop our boating area!

The Club house will be swept away and what is more serious...... is that they want to install hydro electricity generating plants....using the lakes as the source of energy.

History seems to be repeating itself here!..............The lakes were created, in the first place, to drive the cotton mill`s waterwheel!..............The Developers are relying on this fact..............to swing the case!

The serious dilemma is.........why should a model boat club oppose such an ambitious plan, to generate electricity...............green energy at that too!

We`ve got until this Thursday to get our objections in!

Bob
Paul T10/08/2009 08:21:05
7340 forum posts
1229 photos
2 articles
Hi Bob

As an ex developer I understand the planning process and the “tricks” that developers use to swing an application.

What is the exact nature of the application? 

Paul

Paul T10/08/2009 08:34:40
7340 forum posts
1229 photos
2 articles

The first thing to do is buy some time by putting in an objection on the grounds of loosing a long standing public amenity that is enjoyed by many, then start a petition and get as many people to register their objection.

Get the local press involved with a story about the happy and peaceful retirement of poor senior citizens being brushed aside by a heartless developer.

Finally look into the hydro plans and find out just how much power will be generated and who will actually benefit from this plan both with the power and the cash from selling the power.

Bob Abell10/08/2009 08:42:19
9337 forum posts
2985 photos
Hello Paul