Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

hull strengthening membrane?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Meier20/12/2008 08:55:00
205 forum posts
81 photos

Hi. I am building my first scratch built boat, a tenth scale of a 7 meter Italian fishing trawler. It is balsa planks on ply frames. I have had to use a fair bit of filler over the planks in places to get the hull form right (this is my first attempt remember). The filler I chose for its ease of sanding and similar hardness to balsa is PAL contract filler, interior & exterior.

I would like to coat the hull with a strengthening membrane but am put off at the price of fibreglass cloth and resin. I have heard of people using tissue and dope (I assume it is paper tissue). Can anyone tell me of a low cost method that will put a bit more strength and durability into my hull? I would apreciate any helpful tips on how to apply the coating as well.

Regards.

David. 

Bob Abell20/12/2008 09:13:00
8342 forum posts
2558 photos

Hello David

I would recommend you cover the balsa with 300lb cartridge paper plates of scale proportions using PVA................. with Fibre glass resin on the inside

Have a look at my gallery..........Jeanie Deans at war..........that`s what I prefer!

Bob

David Meier20/12/2008 09:40:00
205 forum posts
81 photos

Thanks for the help Bob.

David.

60watt20/12/2008 15:31:00
253 forum posts
14 photos

Hi David.

I've used epoxy with fine woven glass cloth to give a near invisible tough layer.It does away with a lot of filling but it showed every flaw. Unlike a coat of paint, there is no going back after coating with glass.

Glass tissue soaked up a lot of resin and gave a very rough finish - no good.

I would advise you to go ahead and buy fine weave/epoxy and do experiments beforehand.You would probably use it on every model thereafter.

Tom

David Meier20/12/2008 21:33:00
205 forum posts
81 photos

Thanks Tom.