Forum sponsored by Dremel

Fittings For 1/12 RNLI Arun

Scale Fittings

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Mark Nugent22/11/2020 18:33:39
10 forum posts
3 photos

I am looking at purchasing the hull, deck, wheelhouse and plans for the RNLI Arun rescue bost from Mount Fleet Models. How difficult will it be for me to get the 1/12 fittings? I have 3 3d prints so I know I can print some but would rather go with metal.

I am also looking at the 72-inch version of the RNLI Clyde. Not sure what this scale will be? Any help figuring out the scale based on the length?

Thank you all

Mark Nugent22/11/2020 18:38:04
10 forum posts
3 photos

the measurements for the life size Clyde is 71 feet by 18 feet. Anyone want to try and figure out the length, width and scale using these numbers? I am not good with these type of figures.

Colin Bishop22/11/2020 19:18:01
4711 forum posts
6077 photos
402 articles

Macs Mouldings do a number of RNLI 1:12 scale fittings but they are in resin. Still good though.

**LINK**

The Clyde might be rather more difficult...

Colin

Chris Fellows22/11/2020 19:28:46
809 forum posts
532 photos

That's an easy one Mark. Call the full-size one 72 feet and that gives a scale of 1:12 and therefore the width is 18 inches.

That will be a big heavy model!

Chris

Mark Nugent22/11/2020 19:35:44
10 forum posts
3 photos

That will be a big sucker. I have found an amazing site for 1/12 fittings. They actually have a special section for RNLI large scale models. Macsmouldings. I will have to build some type of transportation cart from my truck to the water.

Mark Nugent22/11/2020 19:36:40
10 forum posts
3 photos

Thanks Colin and Chris. What are you building?

Colin Bishop22/11/2020 19:53:56
4711 forum posts
6077 photos
402 articles

Mark,

Martin at Macs Moudings is very helpful and his fittings are excellent quality.