Forum sponsored by Dremel

A decent kit for a beginner

Model slipway

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Moore 311/08/2020 16:50:10
2 forum posts

Hi everyone

I'm looking at a different build to my usual modelling. I usually build etched brass 0 gauge steam engines so I'm not a beginner to modelling but totally new to ships.

I've been looking at model slipway ships & wondered if anyone could recommend a decent kit for a beginner that can be made & be confident it will sail afterwards.

I prefer commercial vessels to pleasure boats if the option is there.

Malcolm Frary11/08/2020 17:05:59
892 forum posts

Model Slipway kits build into superb models that sail well. Having said that, it helps enormously to have some boat model experience. Just an opinion, but something simpler and less complex might be a better start to give a working boat while easing the learning curve.

Colin Bishop11/08/2020 18:35:18
4513 forum posts
6066 photos
398 articles

Model Slipway are certainly very good and the kits go together well but you haven't said what sort of preference you have as there are a vast range of subjects.

If you are going to put a fair bit of effort into a build, and more power to your elbow, then you need to find a subject which appeals to you.

A kit is an excellent introduction to boat modelling as the manufacturer has done all the design work and if you build to the instructions then you are virtually guaranteed to have a good model that performs well. And the experience will stand you in good stead for future projects.

If the Model Slipway subjects appeal to you then you will have seen their home page which makes recommendations for beginners or modellers with experience in other fields. Advice worth following.

**LINK**

All very good advice and you will get excellent after sales support if needed. People on this forum will be happy to offer additional advice if asked.

Colin

Empire Parkstone11/08/2020 18:58:07
222 forum posts