Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

Laser cut deck parts

Fitting the deck

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
John Chelchowski02/05/2020 15:18:38
3 forum posts

I’m new to the hobby and this is my first build so please forgive me for asking what I’m sure will be considered a silly question. I’m building a Sea Urchin (SLEC) and so far so good! Although I’m not quite at the stage of fitting the deck, I have been examining the laser cut parts and offering them up against the hull. It is my intention to fit a sub deck (as advocated by ’roadrunne’r in his comprehensive build report of the same vessel) and then glue the deck parts to it. I notice that there is a significant overhang over the hull of these deck parts. I don’t believe that the intention is that these should be sanded flush with the hull and therefore I assume that this overhang is intentional. I’m also presuming that the rubbing strake will play a part in the finish between the deck overhang and the hull but to my mind this would mean that the deck overhang sits on top of the strake. Can anyone please explain how this is supposed to work or if I’ve completely misunderstood the construction process for the deck.

Ray Wood 202/05/2020 16:17:02
1992 forum posts
709 photos

Hello John,

The SLEC kit for Sea Urchin is an updated version of the original Aerokits design distributed by KeilKraft, not sure who or where Roadrunners review was ? but the original design had the deck fitted after the hull sides and trimmed flush with a 1/8 square rubbing strake externally over the joint, did you have a drawing with your kit ??

I'm not sure you need a "sub deck"

Hope that helps 😀

Regards Rayimg_20200502_155631.jpg

Edited By Ray Wood 2 on 02/05/2020 16:17:48

Dave Milbourn02/05/2020 17:05:04
4002 forum posts
282 photos