Plans for modern yachts

where to get plans??

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Matan Benyamin31/03/2020 11:27:49
1 forum posts

Hi all,

I'm new to this great hobby.

I was trying to search over the internet but could'nt find any source (paid or free, I dont mind) for plans or kits to build modern sailing yachts models (like benetaue's, for example)

Does anyone have a lead? I can only find America' Cup and old sailboats, but nothing more modern ...

Colin Bishop31/03/2020 12:32:09
4393 forum posts
6052 photos
394 articles

Hi Matan,

Welcome to the Forum.

Plans for many modern craft can be hard to obtain, often because builders and manufacturers treat the designs as a matter of commercial confidentiality. So while profiles and deck illustrations are readily available in promotional material, lines and body plans are not included.

Model making plans for scale craft tend to to be limited to older, traditional subjects. It might be worth contacting yacht builders directly to see if they are willing to help you. As you will have seen, most model yacht plans are intended for competitive sailing and are not based on full size prototypes.

Colin

Malcolm Frary01/04/2020 10:24:46
831 forum posts

What Colin said. Add to that that yachts don't scale down very well, mostly because the forces acting on them scale up. For a good, usable working model, liberties have to be taken with things like sailplane and the keel or fin.

Classic Boat Magazine used to be a good source of line drawings that could fairly easily be turned into working construction drawings, but the title gives away the age of the subjects.

Tim Rowe01/04/2020 12:20:45
376 forum posts
440 photos

Hello Matan