By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

Newbie looking for best boat for mini steam marine engine

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Derek Ellis09/02/2020 16:24:28
16 forum posts

Find I have time on my hands (semi-retired), a pool in the backyard and cottage north of me in Canada, and want to build a wooden boat (abs hull) with a mini working marine steam engine, but don't know where to start. Any suggestions, place to go to get info, specific boat(s) to start with, best starter steam engine etc. Fairly handy building cottages, just not in miniature... Thanks in advance. Derek/Kanata/Canada

Colin Bishop09/02/2020 18:22:35
4508 forum posts
6059 photos
398 articles

Hi Derek,

As an absolute beginner it's best to do a bit of online research and reading up.

You could start with a Krick kit.

**LINK**l

Our resident expert Richard Simpson has written a lot about starting off with steam models and getting back issues of magazines with some of his articles would be a good place to begin. Hopefully he will see this topic.

Colin

Derek Ellis09/02/2020 18:48:10
16 forum posts

Colin,

Thanks, good advice. will get a subscription to be able to read his (Richard Simpson) articles. Liked the Krick Borkum or Anna. Will do much more research before I take the plunge. D.

Dave Cooper 609/02/2020 19:40:28
163 forum posts
16 photos

Derek

There's a lot to be said for joining a model boat club (or even a full-size one as they sometimes have modelling interests).

Don't know if you've got one in your part of the world, but, as well as having a great deal of knowledge, they can be a good source of parts, kits (some semi-built) and much more...

Good luck with your first project (let us see some photos of the steamer !)

Dave

Richard Simpson09/02/2020 20:07:51
99 forum posts
74 photos