Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

Brave borderer scratch build

Hull construction

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gary Cooper 313/11/2018 15:33:17
15 forum posts
Hi I'm new to scratch building and I'm attempting a RN Brave Borderer. I'm looking for some photos or onfo on hull construction my plan are very minimal any help would be much appreciated.
Dave Milbourn13/11/2018 17:16:56
3995 forum posts
282 photos

This thread from 'The Other Forum' is written by an acknowledged expert in scratch-building and the boat is similar to HMS BB. I'm no longer a member of Mayhem so I don't know if that's why I can't see any photos. They may have fallen victim to Photobucket's infamous grab for dollars a while back, but John W E (aka Bluebird) also looks into this forum and he might be able to clarify that. **LINK**

Dave M

Tony Hadley13/11/2018 22:14:16
897 forum posts
536 photos

Gary,

I've scanned and attached the magazine item which accompanied the plan (MM609) from September 1960 Model Maker magazine. There are a few basic notes on building in the second page, obviously things have moved on since this article. To enlarge, click on the photograph and then enlarge.

brave borderer (1).jpg

brave borderer (2).jpg

There is information on the full sized craft at the British Military Powerboat site -

**LINK**

Ray Wood 213/11/2018 22:23:29
1917 forum posts
685 photos

Hi All,

That's a proper MTB just has the classic look Spitfire on the water !!

Regards Ray

harry smith 114/11/2018 07:59:57
1022 forum posts
1282 photos

Hi Gary

I have a PDF copy of the Precedent Perkasa build booklet which shows all the frames.

PM your email address and I can send them to you.

Harry Smith

John W E14/11/2018 16:59:02
263 forum posts
257 photos