By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Dremel

New to Steam - what to use in Victoria

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Donald Newton13/09/2017 15:25:22
2 forum posts

Hello, I am new to this forum and I have recently purchased a Krick 'Victoria' model Steam Launch to build. Although I am not new to boat modelling, I am new to Steam Power.

I therefore find myself in a quandary regarding the appropriate steam plant to use on this 1:10 scale and 1077mm long model steam launch.

It goes without saying that it needs to look the part for this era and size of boat, therefore a vertical boiler would be the right choice.

The Krick recommended 'Victor 2' steam plant is available but no longer manufactured I therefore have concerns about future support for spares etc.

Similarly, the Regner midi steam plant is in the same situation.

Stuart Models have a Puffin on sale which looks good but again no longer manufactured. I am not sure in the longer term, as spares/parts become scarce, this is a good buy.

I have also looked at the Libra Vertical Plant Kit and TVR steam engines.

Has anyone got any views on which plant will be suitable to power my model in the inevitable choppy waters you find on most sailing ponds/lakes etc.

I believe a Twin Cylinder engine should give it the best chance.

What about ancillaries.

I realise that I cannot just fix it in the model boat and off we go!What other equipment do I need to get to a go state? -

- Condenser tank ​What size should it be?

- Gas Tank What size and what sot of gas do you recommend to use with the boiler?

- Boiler How big should the boiler be?

- Additional FittingsSilicone tubing or is fixed copper best for connecting to ancillary equipment?

-Steam stop valveTo shut off steam to the engine required?

-Syphon PipeWhat is the purpose of the syphon pipe?

- Nice to have maybe?

Steam Electric gas regulator?