Forum sponsored by Dremel

Beginners luck

USS TENNESSEE - USS CALIFORNIA - USS WEST VIRGINIA

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Kearns07/08/2017 14:27:29
7 forum posts
9 photos

As you will see I am new to model boat building !!

I recently obtained a huge 60in vintage scratch built model of USS Tennessee / USS California / USS West Virginia !!!! I am sure it is one of these !! Although my research was limited to Jane's fighting ships of WWII. However, I am unsure which of the three she is. The ship has no ships number or reference material and she is in need of some TLC, because a previous owner plastered the ship with thick glossy paint.

Before I start any restoration I would like to obtain further reference material about the class and I would appreciate any pointers in the right direction.

Dave Kearns, Retired RN

Paul T07/08/2017 14:57:44
7335 forum posts
1229 photos
2 articles

Hello David

Welcome to our sedate little backwater, if you post some pictures of your model we will do our best to pin it down.

All the best

Paul

David Kearns07/08/2017 21:07:49
7 forum posts
9 photos

Thank you Paul,

I will take a few photographs and list them tomorrow.

Regards Dave

David Kearns08/08/2017 20:39:32
7 forum posts
9 photos

dscf1045.jpgdscf1043.jpgdscf1042.jpgdscf1040.jpgdscf1038.jpgdscf1032.jpgdscf1030.jpgdscf1028.jpgdscf1027.jpgHad problems working out how to upload the pictures !!

Now I have created an album I will try again !!

The hull is made of grp, superstructure from balsa lined plastic, possibly styrene, deck made from ply.

The motor is a whopper !, any idea of type, voltage and age would be of great help.

If it is West Virginia, California or Tennessee did any of these ships have one level upper deck perhaps during refits !!

Any help please.

Dave Kearns Retired RN

David Kearns08/08/2017 20:42:22
7 forum posts
9 photos