Forum sponsored by Dremel

scroll or bandsaw:

which to buy

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
david siokes07/03/2016 20:39:00
14 forum posts
2 photos

hi chaps , im new to this hobby but have plans id like to build and require a saw , have seen a home bench bandsaw at toolstation at £99 and a scroll saw for alittle more , which is best to get for cutting out parts ? thanks

David Marks 108/03/2016 06:58:46
255 forum posts
44 photos

David - I have both types of machine but find I use the bandsaw far more often than the scroll saw. The scroll saw is much better suited to fine work on thinner material. Also, by drilling a pilot hole and inserting the blade through the hole you can also cut out internal shapes e.g. taking the centre out of a bulkhead. You cannot do that with a bandsaw, but a bandsaw will tackle thicker material. Suggest that you look at the specification for other machines as the info avail able from Toolstation is very limited.

You will find that most machinery of this type is now made in China and the same basic machine is marketed by a variety of suppliers although the machine(s) will be badged to suit the supplier. Aim to get a machine with the most powerful motor available and/or affordable.

Banjoman08/03/2016 08:56:34
1145 forum posts
2423 photos

There was a fairly extensive discussion of the respective merits (and indeed necessity -- or not!) of band and scroll saws in the early parts of the Tiddler by Vic Smeed thread (**LINK**); my own contribution to that discussion was quite similar to what David Marks 1 just said, namely the following (I quote):

"I'd say that that depends on what one's priorities are.

A bandsaw has the disadvantage that it simply cannot be used to do internal cuts like cutting out the interior of a closed frame. Because the blade is a continous loop, you just cannot get it in there without at some place cutting through the periphery.